Crazy coupon people?

Hey, have you heard about these crazy coupon people? Who can got to the supermarket and walk out with a cart load of stuff for 2 dollars? Of course it’s 47 bottles of A1 sauce on the buy one get one and they got up at 4am to scour the neighborhood recycle bins on garbage day for coupons for each and every one of them, but hey, they have enough for the church BBQ!

I don’t know, in this economy, people are trying things they wouldn’t normally, and I am a bit of a freak of number crunching, so I thought I would try it. Plus I enjoy the thrill of a bargain hunt. When I went to the Guatfest in October I got a business card for two Moms who have adopted kids from Guatemala that run a website called Stockpiling Moms. Check them out here:  http://www.stockpilingmoms.com/

They have a Stockpiling 101 section where you can get some information on how it works and the lingo. Apparantly you have to get the coupons each week, but don’t cut them up and take just the ones you like, you keep them in a folder, and when the items come up on a BOGO (buy one get one) or at a great sale price, you combine that with the coupon, and get a super deal. They alert you via email on the good deals each week. There are coupon clipping services where you can buy coupons, and all sorts of places to print them out. Of course in the beginning I think it takes a little longer to get the hang of it, plus sometimes they’re referencing coupons that I didn’t save because I hadn’t started.  I also found another website called Iheartpublix.com, since the ladies from the other website are in another state and don’t match up to the same stores.

So I went to Publix on Sunday, and here’s what I got:

  • 4 (large size) boxes of Honey nut cheerios (Carlitos’ favorite) on the BOGO, and I had $1 off 3, plus a $.55 off 1 – so at $4.99 per box, I paid $8.45 for 4 boxes.
  • 2 boxes Barilla plus pasta BOGO at $2.19
  • 4 Boxes Poptarts (which I would never usually buy, ok, here’s the slippery slope, I swear we are going to save them for snacks) BOGO plus a coupon $1 off 3.  So net $.95 per box.
  • 2 Quaker Oatmeal on BOGO plus 2 $1 coupons- net paid $.42 a box!
  • 2 6 packs of Motts single serve applesauce, BOGO
  • 2 Yakisoba teriyaki noodle dishes (BOGO at $.79, with a $.50 off – net $.15 per box!
  • Plus:
  • 1 gallon of milk
  • 1 savoy cabbage
  • bananas
  • 4 boneless pork chops
  • 1 roast beef
  • sour cream
  • and a $3 package of finger lights to entertain my assistant. He was good.

I had a coupon for $5 off your $50 purchase from Albertsons, which is accepted at my Publix, they are considered a competitor. So all of that for a grand total of $40.38.

At the bottom it tells you your savings, which was $37.28, so I saved 48%! Wow!

Yesterday I went to CVS and Wags (oh, don’t you know, that’s what we call Walgreens, we stockpilers, hehe). That is slightly more complicated, I’ll tell you about it another time.

All in all, it was fun. I can see myself getting a little compulsive, in search of just one more coupon, but it definitely suits my number-crunching, bargain hunting self. I don’t know if it fits with my goal of decluttering and simplifying things here, I guess I’ll just try not to get carried away. And I’ll have to work on a deal on paper and ink if I’m going to have to start printing out a whole lot of coupons now 🙂

What do you think? Anyone out there super-couponing?

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Fun stuff, Stockpiling, What's for Dinner? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crazy coupon people?

  1. Jeanine says:

    Cool! I need a class =)

  2. Heidi says:

    The only reason we subscribe to the Sunday newspape is for the coupons. I’ve always been a big coupon clipper, but I only clip coupons for items that we actually use. If I have a coupon for something that I decide not to purchase, I like to leave it on the shelf near the item – hoping someone will use it before a store employee throws it away.

    I love using the $5 Albertsons coupons at Publix. You can use any Albertsons food coupons at Publix – just not coupons for non food items. Just the other day we were checking out at Publix and I had my Albertsons coupon in-hand. The guy behind me pointed out that I was at Publix and not Albertsons. Boy was he surprised (and excited) that Publix takes Albertsons coupons – he didn’t know.

    • debratap says:

      I haven’t bothered much with the coupons in the past, just the obvious ones like the $5 one. And usually I forget to hand them in, so annoying! There seems to be alot for kids snack foods which is always good for me to have to bring to the park or in the car in case of emergency!

  3. Kath says:

    hey Deb – you should talk to Mackie, the least he ever saves is 50% each trip. His best one to date was going from $90 to only paying about $7. That was when the kids were younger and he had major coupons for formula. Very funny but saves us a fortune!!
    by the way Happy New Year!
    Keep blogging!
    Kathleen

    • debratap says:

      wow Kath, that is amazing! I always did try and use them when I remembered, but it never occured to me to save them for weeks and time the sales, I just did it during that one week, you know? Of course I now have a spreadsheet going, I’ll be posting a chart sometime in the near future!

  4. Suzanne Douglas says:

    Check out extreme couponing on TLC, wow!

  5. Laurita across the street says:

    I am going to send this to my family. We have been brought up to always think about a coupon possibility. Why not is the motto.

    Anyway, my cousin told me to always put the company/product name and then promo or coupon after it in the search engine. So, I get of coupons and savings from the Internet that way.

    Did I tell you that already? Laurita

Leave a Reply

