I love the New Year!

New Years is one of my favorite holidays! Not for the party so much anymore, more that I love getting rid of all that Christmas stuff, and clearing things out, decluttering and having a cleaner outlook for a fresh beginning. For the past couple of years I’ve spent New Year’s day with my friend Laura, looking at the previous year’s accomplishments, and making plans for the future as well- making vision boards and thinking about the direction I want my life to go in. I also love when it falls on a weekend so you have chance to get things set up, and Monday the WHOLE NEW LIFE begins! ( I say this every year, don’t get too excited)

I got an email with an idea from my Lifecoach friend Christine Kane- she suggests picking a Word of the year to be your theme instead of a list of things you want to do. She’s got a worksheet with some questions you can answer for yourself, here’s the link if you want to check it out:  http://christinekane.com/blog/resolution-revolution-a-better-way-to-start-your-year/.

I thought I’d give that a try this year, but I have to say it was tough to pick a word. I went through many before I came up with my theme for 2011 –  Embrace

em·brace

1.

to take or clasp in the arms; press to the bosom; hug.
2.

to take or receive gladly or eagerly; accept willingly: to embrace an idea.
3.

to avail oneself of: to embrace an opportunity.
4.

to adopt (a profession, a religion, etc.): to embrace Buddhism.
5.

to take in with the eye or the mind.
6.

to encircle; surround; enclose.
7.

to include or contain: An encyclopedia embraces a great number of subjects.
–verb (used without object)

8.

to join in an embrace.
–noun

9.

an act or instance of embracing. 2. adopt, espouse, welcome. 3. seize. 7. comprise, cover, embody.
  exclude.

So to me it means being open to and accepting things, people, situations, and not only being open to the way they are but embracing them. And embracing myself- who I am, what I love, and stepping out and trying things that I have learned and say I think would be great. Putting ideas into practice- embracing the life I want to lead. Embracing my son’s current love of stuffed animals and the nightly routing of lugging them all upstairs to bed and back down again in the morning.

And so for example, I am always talking about how I’d like to get on an earlier schedule. Lately we go upstairs at 8:30p (ok, sometimes 9pm) and by the time Carlitos is done with bath, teeth, pjs and books, he’s not asleep till 10pm. And then I end up staying awake till 1 am or so, straightening up, watching a tv show or two, and checking Facebook and email. And then we get up at 8:30am.

So the new plan is shifting things at least an hour earlier for him, and me staying upstairs, catching ONE show and going straight to bed. Then in the morning I get an hour or two before he’s up.  The hard part is trying to not let what I feel like get in the way of what I want. Every night I feel like vegging in front of the tv or computer. What I want is to get up earlier so I can do some writing, reading, Flylady routines and be ready for the day when Carlitos gets out of bed.

For the last couple of years I’ve been thinking about going to concerts- not the major superstar/rock band concerts with drinking and dancing in the aisles I’ve gone to in the past, more single vocalist or orchestra concerts, where you sit back with your eyes closed and enjoy the music. So when we went to the aquarium last over the holidays the Sarasota Orchestra played a free holiday concert, and I really enjoyed it. I might have enjoyed it more if I didn’t have Carlitos chattering next to me and fidgeting around. So this morning I bought tickets to go see the next show the Orchestra is doing called Espana- classical music in a Spanish theme with guitar, flute and vocal solos. And I called the babysitter I’ve been wanting to try for months- I’m pretty excited! 

And finally I want to get some reading done. I love to read, I got an e-reader for Christmas, but I am backed up about 50-100 books over the last 3-4 years. I buy them, but don’t make time to read them since you know who has arrived I guess.

So I am going to embrace the reading or give them to Goodwill and enjoy the idea of blessing someone else with them. Maybe I could try and read a book a week for the year? Hey, wait a minute, that sounds like a resolution. Ok, maybe 1 theme word and 1 resolution? Ha, ha, here we go.

Happy New Year Everyone!

Looking forward to embracing YOU when I see you in 2011!

Deb

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Embrace, LifeCoach, Vision Board and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I love the New Year!

  1. Laura Across the Street says:

    I loved embracing our Skype date to bring in the new year. Mom and I said a prayer yesterday at 1:11 on 1/1/11. Thank you for all your wisdom and embracing! Love and Hugs, Laura

  2. debratap says:

    And hey- what word did you decide on?

  3. Teri Gresser says:

    Embrace is a good word. I wish you the best of everything as you embrace 2011. I’m looking foward to our Monday mornings at 9:30. I know that after every call I will feel that much closer toward my word. Thanks for being a great friend. Love you.

  4. rebecca says:

    Wow, this is such a powerful one on more than one idea!! I love “embrace”. I could just embrace it for my own word!!
    If you do talk to Laura, give her a cyber hug!

  5. Noreen Dengler says:

    I am choosing release as my word. I think before I can embrace or accept or self love I need to release a bunch of nonsense. So that’s what I am going to work on. Thanks for the inspriration. Love ya, Noreen

    Release:
    5. a freeing or releasing from confinement, obligation, pain, emotional strain, etc.
    6. liberation from anything that restrains or fastens.
    7. some device or agency for effecting such liberation.
    8. a grant of permission, as to publish, use, or sell something.

    • debratap says:

      Great word Noreen! I’ll check in woth you soon and see how you’re doing!

    • Noreen Dengler says:

      I’ve had a very rough start of the year at my job. Had to call children’s services on one of my kids families for suspected abuse. One of the hardest things I’ve ever done to date at this job. My gut was screaming at me that something was going on and then the child confirmed it. It’s awful. But my hope is that the family will get the help they so dearly need. SO I am trying to release the guilt of making the call and be confident it was the right thing to do.

      • debratap says:

        It sounds like you KNOW you did the right thing. Thank God for loving teachers, parents are not the only important people in a child’s life. Hugs to you for your courage Noreen, and prayers for those who need the help.

  6. katie says:

    I like this idea. I chose Health – I hope this brings improvement in physical/mental/emotional health. And I hope it helps me to focus on actions that will promote a heathy me and a healthy PJ!
    Thanks for the great way to start the New Year.

Leave a Reply

