Mimma Turriziani’s cauliflower pasta- who’d a thunk it?

When I got married I spent a lot of time in Italy, staying with my in-laws. I learned a few things about Italian cooking while I was there. This was one of my mother-in-law’s recipes that I really enjoyed. Who would think to mix cauliflower and pasta together with tomato sauce? One of the secrets she gave me is the idea for tre gusti- three flavors. If you want to make a simple and delicious sauce, limit yourself to three key flavors. (This doesn’t include the tomatoes!) Carlitos was actually grunting and shouting while he ate this tonight- I served it with leftover frigadellas from last night, that’s another post entirely!

Ingredients:

1 onion

1 head of cauliflower (sometimes I use brocciflower!)

1-2 tbsp olive oil

1 can crushed tomatoes

ditalini- or any small pasta

fresh basil , grated pecorino romano for garnish

I use the big frying pan for this. Chop the onion and start to saute in olive oil. Clean and chop the cauliflower into bite size pieces. Add to pan and let saute a couple of minutes. Add can of crushed tomatoes, and let cook for about 10 minutes covered, stirring occasionaly.

Usually at this point I remove about 1/2 of the sauce and put it in a tupperware to freeze for another time. This is best fresh, the pasta tends to suck up all of the sauce in the fridge and turn mushy. 1/2 the recipe here is enough for 4 people served with a salad or as a side dish to accompany meat. Then I sprinkle the pasta on top of what’s still in the pan (a little less than 1/2 a box) and add some water to cover, give it a stir,. and cook until pasta is al dente. Serve with a sprig or two of basil and some grated cheese, and your kids may be screaming for more too. My friend Kim calls it italian mac and cheese. Buon appetito!

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in What's for Dinner? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mimma Turriziani’s cauliflower pasta- who’d a thunk it?

  1. am says:

    YUMMMMMMM
    I havn’t had that in a loooooong time

  2. Christine says:

    Oh my yum! Love this and can’t wait to try it.

  3. Noreen Dengler says:

    Sounds delicious!

  4. rebecca says:

    I am so anxious to try this! I will simply use my gluten free pasta’s so Bob can have it!
    Sounds yummy!!

  5. Kim says:

    I forgot about this one!! Gonna make it tonight with a fresh broccaflower from Papas Farm!!! YUM!

  6. Kim says:

    PS: The frigadellas…..do that one next…they look cool!

  7. christina says:

    Hey Deb, thanks for a great receipe, i love to try new ones, and hate to wonder each evening what i’m going to cook, and on top of it I love cauliflower! It really looks good!

Leave a Reply

