We’re lovin’ it!

Vacation- week two New York. We’re so busy, I put Carlitos to bed last night and woke up at 7:30am in my clothes. Of course it was almost 11pm when we went upstairs, we were at the beach till almost dark, and then had dinner at 9:30. I think we’ve already spent a full 24 hours at the beach this week, in addition to dinner out in Brooklyn, a tribute parade and a trip to the NY Aquarium and Coney Island Boardwalk. 

Here’s some highlights: 

The water has been pretty arctic if you ask me, maybe exaggerated due to the heat wave earlier this week. It was over 100 degrees a couple of days, which beat Sarasota FL by about 15 degrees at one point. The lifeguards in Breezy fill out a little chart on the sidewalk, too cool.  Another thing they have down the point that we don’t get in Roxbury, not that I want to start any trouble, hahaha. I can’t bring myself to lol, I’ve been writing hahaha forever. Lol reminds me too much of boop boop and lollygagging, which is NOT a good thing according to my Dad.   

Carlitos and Chelsea had a great time at the ocean, his first time surfing the waves. Chelsea collected about 50 lbs of shells that she plans to take home to Georgia, her Mom is probably going to be really happy with me. 🙂 It’s been fun hanging out with a teenager, we have to make sure all of Carlito’s shorts and sandals match each other, and there’s alot of clothes changing going on. She hasn’t even gotten to wear everything she brought for the trip- she’s hoping I’ll take her 

Showin' their BPC pride!

somewhere that she can wear a navy blue minidress with sequins which she had planned to wear for July 4th, but it was too cold. She’s texting 24/7 and has friended a whole new crew on Facebook, hanging out at the courts and Sugar Shack every night. 

                                                             **************************************************************** 

Noreen needs to start bringing Roscoe his own chair!

We’ve been at Crabapple beach almost every day- better watch out when you get up, you never know who is going to jump into your seat. Here’s my friend Edna enjoying her own little piece of heaven. I’ve been reading the first 2 chapters of 1 of the dozen books I brought for the past week, I’m not getting too far. Too much going on, too many people to talk to, pictures to take, swimmers to save. I watched our cousin from Texas do 6 flips without coming up for air yesterday, woo hoo! 

Me and Edna, trying to read.

Can you get any more Zen than this?

chillaxin 

Cousins! The famous flipper from Texas and my Florida girl.

  

                                                                                 *************************************** 

I went out to dinner for Brooklyn Italian at Spumoni Gardens with the ladies the other night, it was awesome. There’s nothing like NY Italian food, and this place is famous. http://www.spumonigardens.com    Fried calamari, zucchini, salads, fish, chicken francese (one of my favorites). There were 8 of us at the table, laughing, drinking wine and ejoying ourselves. The finale of the meal was the special dessert platter. I think the waiters decided to have some fun with us on that one, I wish I would have had my camera with me. There was a tower of spumoni ice cream in the middle of the plate, with a big strawberry on top, surrounded by a couple of other delicious pastries and ice creams. It was a little suggestive if you know what I mean. If the waiters had come out and done a striptease it would have completed the scene. 

We topped off the night hanging out on the Reid’s deck, reminiscing. The funniest was the story they told about our good friend Swilly, who ran out to his car one night at the Bozo’s club and returned as the Morton salt girl. I’m sorry I missed that one.

I can just see him in that yellow dress with an umbrella. Maybe he’ll do a reprise for Mardi Gras!

                                                                  ****************************************************************** 

The Wounded Warrior parade was this week, run by the Graybeards of Rockaway. The whole town came out to cheer on the heroes….. 

Carlitos waving the flagIf you need a flag next year see Mrs. Reid. hahaha

 

                                                                             ****************************************** 

We topped off the week with a trip to the NY Aquarium and the boardwalk in Coney Island. Of course I’m a sucker and joined as a premium member, now I have to go to the Central Park Zoo and the Bronx Zoo before I leave to feel like I’m getting my money’s worth. If you feel like taking a day trip, give us a call!  

Next time I think I’ll put a pull-up on Carlitos. He had to pee every 1/2 hour or so, I saw more of the ladies room than the fish. 

The Aquarium hasn’t changed much since I was a kid. They did add a new 4D movie that was fun. I like the aquarium because it doesn’t require the whole day to feel like you saw it all- SeaWorld my be fancier, but can you do it all and still have time for a Coney Island hot dog? 

I found myself really appreciating those stands that sell everything from beer to shish kebobs, hotdogs and funnel cakes, clams on the half shell and cotton candy. They look like they haven’t changed in 50 years, which is ok with me! 

The Wonder Wheel is 90 this year- Wow! 

 

If you want to see the complete sets of pictures, the links are below.   

I was thinking Thank God it was going to rain today- but what am I going to do with Carlitos then? Well, we can always paint some shells. If Chelsea will let us have any. 

Crabapple- http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/sharing/shareRedirectSwitchBoard.jsp?token=484660415506%3A137078458&sourceId=533754321803&cm_mmc=eMail-_-Share-_-Photos-_-Sharee 

Ocean 

http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/sharing/shareRedirectSwitchBoard.jsp?token=884660415506%3A1942701483&sourceId=533754321803&cm_mmc=eMail-_-Share-_-Photos-_-Sharee 

July 4 Weekend 

http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/sharing/shareRedirectSwitchBoard.jsp?token=784660415506%3A63677399&sourceId=533754321803&cm_mmc=eMail-_-Share-_-Photos-_-Sharer 

Coney Island –
http://www.kodakgallery.com/gallery/sharing/shareRedirectSwitchBoard.jsp?token=399233415506%3A1196291309&sourceId=533754321803&cm_mmc=eMail-_-Share-_-Photos-_-Sharee

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Living it up! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to We’re lovin’ it!

  1. Christine says:

    You’re making me homesick! Looks like you’re having an amazing time. Say hello to the penguins at CPZ for me, k?

  2. DIANE THOMPSON says:

    HEY DEB THANKS FOR SHARING LOVE ALL THE PIC GLAD YOU ARE HAVING A GREAT TIME XOXOXO DIANE 143

  3. linda says:

    Hey Deb. Lol lol lol. Try it, you’ll like it. Fun reading about your enjoyable life in NY. Love tje pics. When are WE going to the CP Zoo togetherr?!

  4. Laurita says:

    Tell “flipper girl” she is very impressive. I used to love doing that and feeling the wheel of water rushing past my face. You could have the little man find shells with a little hole and on rainy days you can make a mobile. Just a thought. Love and Hugs! L

  5. Noreen Dengler says:

    I promise to be in some of those pictures before you leave!!

  6. Teri Gresser says:

    Another great BLOB!!! Keep them coming.

  7. Teri Gresser says:

    Sometimes we forget how lucky we are to live in this great place called Roxbury. Thank you for reminding us.

  8. Deb- yet another great blob ! Lol ! Keep them coming but no pressure !

Leave a Reply

