Quick, get to the beach before the oil spill gets here!

So I’ve been taking Carlitos to the beach at night for dinner- I make sandwiches, and we’ve been heading down there at around 6pm. The water is beautiful- about 87 degrees according to the NODC (National Oceanic something something) website. The highest temp they show on average in the NY area is 74 degrees in August, sorry Mom, I know you’re missing the gulf this year. 

 

In an effort to make this feel a little more spontaneous, I try and fool myself into thinking I can bring less stuff- which still includes a chair, a towel, a bag of beach toys and the cooler, and pajamas for Carlitos to change into after he showers ( I always have high hopes that the swimming is going to wear him out and he’ll fall asleep on the way home). No such luck yet. As a matter of fact tonight I was a really good Mom and let him have a popstickle (his word) when we got home, and he didn’t fall asleep till 10:30, oy vey. 

I can’t even say what it was like, it’s what I would imagine Tahiti or Bora Bora is like at night- the water was clear, calm, and it was warm like a pool.  I don’t have to hang on to Carlitos every minute since the waves have been pretty small, and we swim until the sun goes down. That’s what I call living it up!  Nights like this are when I give myself a pat on the back, now this is going to be a good memory. Wait a minute- I don’t remember much of anything from when I was three years old, do you?  Well, I guess I’ll have to keep this up for a few years so it’s really ingrained in his mind. He knows our address now, which I am pretty proud of him for, and that I’ve only been telling him at bedtime for a couple of weeks. Once upon a time there was a little boy named Carlitos, and he lived at…..in SARASOTA FLORIDA! (He always shouts that part, since he remembers it so well)

It’s a more mellow crowd at night- you can always get a primo spot, some people come down dressed for the evening and enjoy happy hour in the sand, while others come after work or to avoid the sun. There’s one lady at the beach we go to who comes around the same time every night with a big bag of bread-kind of reminds me of Mary Poppins, feed the birds, tuppence a bag, tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a bag… 

The water was pretty cool tonight too- it was so smooooth and liquid like, I don’t know how to explain it- but I took some pictures, I may do a painting of it in the future. I’ve been thinking about doing some multimedia projects- start with a photograph, do some digital artwork, a painting in watercolor, acrylic, oils, a drawing or maybe pen and ink, then even a quilt. This might be a good subject. Don’t you just want to run your hands over the top of this? I know I did, for about 20 minutes. And then I took pictures.

 I’ve never seen the water look like this in Jamaica Bay or the Atlantic, or the Caribbean or anywhere else for that matter- or is it just that I’m really trying to be conscious and awake lately, and notice things? Maybe there are some benefits to getting older.

Suddenly it’s very easy for me to cry about things too though- being at the beach at night and then seeing more news about the oil spill and that it’s going to be in Florida in the next few days. So sad.

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Family, Free time, Good Things, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quick, get to the beach before the oil spill gets here!

  1. rebecca says:

    I just finally read your response to mine about Carlitos and the toilet!! And again I laughed. And I do want to get together.
    You know these posts are excellent and your stories are so worthy! The photos of the water are truly touchable. I could see you painting them. I would love to see a quilt also. Have I seen any quilts of yours?

  2. MOM says:

    Ah yes, the water looks beautiful and how I wish I could be there with you. Last night sitting on the deck watching the sun setting and lighting up our water is a beautiful sight. The water turns silver although I still won’t be swimming in it for awhile. Carlito will enjoy the evenings here also.

  3. debratap says:

    Thanks Rebecca- you haven’t seen any quitls of mine, because there’s only one and it’s not a quilt, it’s a table runner. I just took a beginning quilting class to learn the bsics so I could move on immediately to art quilting, which I am expirmenting with now. Look forward to future posts about it!

  4. Christine says:

    Deb, this was so beautiful! I love the water here too – and I’m heartbroken about the oil spill – so terrible.

  5. Jeanine says:

    Beautiful pictures 🙂 We will join you next week when school is out hopefully before the oil gets here 😦

  6. Laurita says:

    That day is imprinted on my brain forever. Thank you for the invite…love and hugs, L

Leave a Reply

