Greek Stir Fry- Courtesy of two Christines

Part of my inspiration for starting a blog is the one and only I have been subscribed to, http://colormepink.com, which is written by my friend Christine Leiser Schroeder, who is an old friend from Oceanside that I reconnected with thru Facebook. It turns out we have alot in common- we both grew up on Long Island, now live in Florida, like to cook, have kids (she homeschools hers- we’ll see about that for me!) and she makes some really nice jewelry. Ok, I don’t make any jewelry, but I am the creative type!

The other Christine is a former coworker who was always sending recipes out via the office email when I worked for American Express at the Arrow Electronics onsite office- this was one of my favorites from her and I made it while I was at my cousin’s house on vacation last week, and was already in taking-pictures-for-the-blog mode. I think I have alot to learn about food photography, but here goes, let me know if you try making it!

Greek Stir Fry ala Christines

  • 1  lb chicken breasts cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 3  cloves garlic minced
  • 6  scallions chopped
  • 8  oz fresh sliced mushrooms (sometimes I use baby bellas, sometimes white)
  • 4  plum tomatoes quartered lengthwise
  • 3  oz crumbled feta cheese
  • 1  tbsp fresh dill or 1 tsp dry dill

In a large fry pan on medium heat cook chicken and garlic for about 5 minutes, or until no longer pink and looks done. Remove chicken from the pan and throw in mushroom and scallions. Cook for about 4 minutes uncovered. Add chicken, tomatoes, cheese and dill.

Cook until just heated through and cheese melts. Serves four.

I usually serve this over couscous with a side of broccoli. This time we used orzo, which was good, but I prefer the couscous as it does a better job absorbing the sauce, which you may be tempted to drink from the bottom of the dish, it is so good. Ok, when I make this I think I usually add some extra garlic, dill and feta, but I recall following the recipe exactly and it turning out really good!

Buon Appetito!

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Friends, Good Things, Recipes, What's for Dinner? and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Greek Stir Fry- Courtesy of two Christines

  1. wow, this sounds delicious! i will definitely be trying this recipe out!

  2. Kim says:

    I will make this PERFECT before you and
    Charlie get here this summer!!!! Poor US…..We have to test good food’!!!!!!!

  3. Christine says:

    Yum!!! Looks delicious! We really do have a lot in common, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

