What do you say to taking chances?

My name is Deb Taphouse. I am a 45 year old woman, single, widowed, worked 1/2 my life for a Fortune 500 company, survived the WTC disaster, and recently became a parent to a wonderful boy. Born and raised in Queens and Long Island NY, and now living in Sarasota FL for the past couple of years. After 22 years of employment with American Express, my job was relocated to another state, and I got the severance package I was wishing for (jokingly, I thought). A  year off paid, during which I have been trying to decide what I’m going to do for the rest of my life. Of course, 3 weeks after my last day, the stock market crashed. (You see how important I was to corporate America?) Working on figuring out what brings me joy, what gives joy to others, and hoping that I’m not wasting this gift of time. I never could have imagined I could be a single stay at home Mom- even for a year or two. Thank you God! Now I have to figure out what I want to do before I run out of money- trying to have faith that there’s a plan and the right thing will work out, it always does.

I love traveling, art, photography, spirituality, God, gardening, self-help books, novels, my family, learning how to be a good Mom, painting, decorating, cooking, quilting (that’s new!) organizing things, spreadsheets, calculating, analyzing and the list goes on.

Why am I writing a blog? Well, why not? There’s alot of things I’m exploring that I want to share with others- things I find inspirational, things that have helped me, people I admire, stuff that makes me cry. Most of all, just living it up- having fun with my son, and trying to appreciate it all. Who knows, maybe I want to be a writer when I grow up.

I was just listening to this Celine Dion song, and it feels like it fits for me right now-

What do you say?

Don’t know much about your life.
Don’t know much about your world, but
Don’t want to be alone tonight,
On this planet they call earth.

You don’t know about my past, and
I don’t have a future figured out.
And maybe this is going too fast.
And maybe it’s not meant to last,

But what do you say to taking chances,
What do you say to jumping off the edge?
Never knowing if there’s solid ground below
Or hand to hold, or hell to pay,
What do you say,
What do you say?

I just want to start again,
And maybe you could show me how to try,
And maybe you could take me in,
Somewhere underneath your skin?

What do you say to taking chances,
What do you say to jumping off the edge?

About debratap

Mom, artist, analyst- taking some time to figure it all out!
This entry was posted in Taking chances and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What do you say to taking chances?

  1. laura daughety says:

    I love the quilting logo that you used for your new site! So creative of you. Not that I would have expected anything less! You are a wonderful inspiration to all that will read and enjoy your blogs!

    I love you Deb! You go girl!!!

    • debratap says:

      Thanks Laura, so funny, I didn’t pick that logo though, I think it is auto-generated! I have to figure out how the software works still, I have alot to learn!

  2. Tina Taphouse says:

    SURVIVOR is the first word that comes to my mind about you, my dear sister! Wow, I just learned a lot about you and I’m WOW!! And with that instinct and knowing that we are in fact free to do whatever we want as long as we put our whole heart into it, it CAN be accomplished.

    This is in addition to the fact that I already know you’re the most loving Mom to the sweetest boy and it’s not the obvious things you notice about the fun times but the little things that you share with us that have us know you both a lot more! You ARE a part of my family!

    I know I am always changing myself, my direction and my goals, so I understand the thought process. Can you tell my mind is now concentrating on my photography?! It’s always been my dream and now I’m working on it.

    Good luck sweetness. Whatever you decide, I’ll be watching and cheering you on!!!
    xoxoxo

    • debratap says:

      Tina, I’m so glad we met! I have noticed the increase in photographic discussion/posts lately, I love it! You have to do me a favor and give me a brief biography of yourself, I think I have alot of it figured out via your posts, but you’re still an enigma!

  3. Kim Pagan says:

    I AM SPEECHLESS, AMAZED, IMPRESSED AND PROUD to call you my friend….my sister. You have turned sour grapes into DELICIOUS wine and are passing on God’s Blessings!!! ….Where ever you jump or when ever…..I AM WITH YOU!!!! XOXOXOXO

  4. Noreen Dengler says:

    I’ve been thinking alot about what to do when I grow up and I’m still searching. Having just completed my Master’s Degree at 45, I know anything is possible. You are an inspiration, to me, doing it on your own. I truly do believe that God does not give us more than we can handle, and you’ll know when the right thing comes along.
    I love your blog.

  5. Laurita says:

    There were so many things I wanted to say, but I read this at your house and couldn’t respond as you. Now a week has gone by and the things that still stand out the most are that it is great you are being so true to yourself; I am inspired and “zing” when we have our life coaching chats; because of your path and the life coaching….I am now closer to what I like, enjoy and better for it all. Thank you my dear friend and amazing life coach!

  6. jackalito says:

    well well well, i got on your blog and of course read it backwards. i dont even know what to say, leaving out the beautiful recipe and pictures. deb i have always been so proud of you, and nothing nothing you do surprises me, because everything you touch turns to gold. including your family and friends and their hearts. your are probably, no you are the best mother, whether single married or whathave you. this is why you were born, the very reason for your being is that lil guy right there. you fill his life with wonder, happiness, kookyness, laughter and plenty plenty of love, love so much sometimes it hurts. and me and everyone else that have been in your life are a better person for just knowing you. i love you very much debs, and wish you all that life has to give. but i am sure you will not let a single single moment pass without grabbing on the the golden ring each time it passes. looking foward to seeing you in july, and of course lil spanky. thanks for listening to my crapola. hurry home. aunt jackie.xxxx

  7. Pingback: If I talked to you on the phone tonight, here’s what i’d tell ya! | Living it up!

Leave a Reply

